Birthday Drinkalong: High Fidelity

high fidelity gif

When sj Met Susie

I started that blog I no longer have in November of 2011 (11/11/11, actually). The same day I started it, Heather D emailed me a link and said “You have to read/follow/like this blog.” She was super supportive of me starting that blog (cos I’d done it to get out of her forcing me into NaNoWriMo and she was going to make sure I did SOMETHING) and taught me the ropes on how to be a good blogger.  The link she sent was for the Booksluts, and I followed but LAWDY I was nervous.  The Booksluts were the cool girls.  Far edgier than I’d given myself permission to be at that time (for some reason I went almost a year without ever swearing on that blog, can you even?), and I was a little starry eyed.

Susie followed me back a few months later after reading one of my best Trashy Tuesday posts (again, because of Heather) and I nervously struck up a conversation with her via DM.  Something about tee shirts (cos Megiggles and I wanted to do some dodi stuff), and I was excited that she was talking to me, but didn’t expect us to ever really be friends, you know?

A few months later, we had moved on to emails and gchat, and we were talking pretty much every day.  I’d started out thinking she was this intimidating cool girl (and she was), but what I’d first perceived as standoffishness was actually an aspie trait that she and I share.  And that was when we really became friends, I think.  When we realized how very much we had in common.

She asked me if I was interested in writing something for IB for a Stephen King week she had percolating in her brain, but before we even got that far, she’d asked me to become a regular contributor.  Funnily enough, my first post there was about this very movie/book.

bitches love mixtapes

So, my relationship with Susie was a working relationship at first, but it has since grown into this completely incredible friendship that I would be lost without.  Last year when things were particularly rough for me and my family, Susie stepped in and pretty much saved us.  And that’s…I’m having a hard time expressing how much it means to me to have someone like her in my life.  I’ve always been under the impression that I’m the worst kind of friend to have because of how many of my friendships have eventually self-destructed, you know?  Like, I don’t consider myself to be someone that people should want to be friends with, because I have so much shit going on that I can see it being exhausting.  But Susie has never once told me to fuck off with my bullshit.  She gets what it’s like inside my head, with all of my friendship insecurities and doubts, cos she has those same insecurities.  She goes out of her way to say shit like “Hey, I know you’re probably feeling x right now, but knock that shit off.  Your brain is wrong, okay?”

I never…I never knew before Susie that it was possible to have friends who would do that for you.

Anyway, I’m being stupid and sappy, but tomorrow is Susie’s birthday and I hope she has the most amazing birthday of all time.  Let’s all get super drunk for her tonight, yeah?

High Fidelity Drinking Game

Countdown Timer

7 thoughts on “Birthday Drinkalong: High Fidelity

Leave a Reply

