Birthday Drinkalong: Bad Santa

A few weeks ago, Morgan messaged me that she was trying to figure out what movie she wanted for her birthday drinkalong.

Me:  Dude, I will totally bump a Christmas movie for you, just say the word.

Her:  No, I mean…I was thinking of Bad Santa.

Me:  Well, damn.

8-Bad-Santa-quotes

So, you know how I have these long stories about every single person ever?  I actually have one for Morgan, too, but it’s different from the rest.

Most of the people who live in my computer, I’ve met cos we had shared interests and grew tight over a period of time or whatever.  Rarely do I become friends with someone just because they’re the friend of my friend, but that’s exactly how it happened with Elmo.

See, when we first started these drinkalong thingys, we did LotR over WAY TOO MANY weeks.  Tony was still in Japan at the time, and gracefully gave up his Sunday mornings/afternoons to the cause of daydrinking.  One week one of his friends showed up (after having watched Tony’s feed with interest the week before), and at first I was all “the fuck, who is this person crashing our totally public drinkalong?!”  BUT THEN, it was like meeting the little sister I’d never had or wanted.

You guys know that I have little to no filter, but Mosie’s filter is pretty much non-existent.  Like, she says every damn thing she thinks of and gives not one single fuck about it.   For weeks after meeting her I was super intimidated in a “goddamn, this girl is way too cool to want to be my friend” sort of way that I probably should have abandoned 20 years ago.

We fucked around on twitter getting to know each other for a while (here’s an example of some of the stuff you’re missing if you don’t follow her), DMing like kids passing notes in Study Hall.  Tony and I became friends on facebook, and not even two minutes later I got a friend request from someone with an unfamiliar name.  I looked it over and DMed Morgan to ask if it was her.  It was, but I was surprised, cos she’s one of those kids that’s too cool for facebook, y’know?

I can totally pinpoint the exact moment I knew that she was more than just a friendcrush.

It was November 23, 2013. The drinkalong that night was Half Baked.  A few other people showed up, but for the most part, it was just the two of us and somehow we made it into the best possible time.  It was like she was sitting in my living room with me, getting drunk and shouting “AHHHHHHHHHH, MOTHERFUCKER SAID ICE CREAM!” at the screen. As silly as it sounds, a bond was forged that night that cannot be broken. These things happen when you get retweeted by Abba-Zaba.

Happiest of birthdays, Mosie.  I’m super happy to have you in my life.  ❤

Everyone else:  The rules tonight are simple…drink every time Morgan says to drink.  BOOM, alcohol poisoning for everyone!

Countdown Timer

Leave a Reply

