Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead Drinkalong

A few things before I get into the deets about this week’s drinkalong.

Some of you are aware of the pile of shit my life has been this year.  Things are looking a little better now, though, I feel like I can actually breathe for the first time in several months.  However, with that breathing room comes the news that we’ll be moving again, probably before the end of the year.  It’s really a good thing this time, though, so I don’t need any moving sympathy.  We’ll be back on EST, so there may be some adjustment to drinkalong times (maybe earlier like they used to be?  not sure) coming up.

Also, since I don’t have a concrete date set yet for the move, I don’t know which drinkalongs I might have to miss (if any at all), but I’d really like it if you guys kept at it, even if I can’t make it.  I don’t necessarily want to postpone/cancel anything when I just fucking figured out the schedule for most of the rest of the year.

Okay, the next thing…most of you followed that blog I used to have, and maybe you remember a post I wrote in April about a dear friend who was battling cancer.  Although in June things were looking promising, her situation deteriorated rapidly over the last few weeks. and it’s with an incredibly heavy heart that I tell you that Alethea passed away very early yesterday morning (technically Thursday night on the west coast, but I think she’d prefer to think of it as happening on Hallowe’en in the eastern time zones, that’s a very Alie thing to do).

Tonight’s drinkalong is for her.  We talked a lot about her trying to make one (most especially during HughesFest), but it never happened.  Tonight I raise my drink to her and the memory of her laughter.

 

2 thoughts on “Don’t Tell Mom the Babysitter’s Dead Drinkalong

Leave a Reply

