The Birdcage Drinkalong

birdcage gif exciting

Okay, so…confession time.

If I’m just watching a movie without doing a drinkalong (even if I’m watching it with other people), nine times out of ten I will fall asleep once it gets past the 90 minute mark.

On more than one occasion I have fallen asleep in movie theatres.  I’ve STILL never made it all the way through Return of the King (yes, even though we did the drinkalong for it, I had a sick kid in the middle of that one, so I missed a good 20 minutes of it), and I’ve accepted the fact that I hate that movie (and the fucked up ending) just enough to ensure that I never will.

Which is to say…I don’t know that I’ve ever seen this movie all the way through.

I know I’ve started it several times.

I know that I’ve seen the end.

But I don’t think I’ve ever actually watched a good portion of the middle of it, so I can’t even begin to come up with drinking game rules.

At first I was all broken up about it, but then I remembered that this happened last week:

drinkalong transcript

And I didn’t feel bad anymore.

NO ONE FOLLOWS THE RULES ANYWAY!

ridiculous

So just drink, who cares?

If you need help getting into IRC, you’re in luck, cos I did this shitty awesome tutorial to help you.

SEE YOU TONIGHT!

10 thoughts on “The Birdcage Drinkalong

  1. I have to admit, there have been a few times (mostly on “Saved!”) that I haven’t followed the rules at all. This usually happens when I don’t know the movie well and really want to pay attention to what’s going on, or like in the case of The Big Lebowski, I had no idea what the rules were actually referring to so I forgot them halfway through and just started drinking whenever it seemed appropriate. XD (There’s a lot going on in that movie…)

    I do love learning new drinking games, though, so having rules certainly isn’t a bad thing! Even if everybody ignores them.

    Also I have never seen The Birdcage. Part of me is afraid I’ll cry cause Robin Williams, but I feel like I should watch it anyway. So many folks I know talk about it. I’ll do my best to be there tonight. I’ve missed you guys!

    • The last several drinkalongs have made me cry a little cos of Robin Williams. But I’m really glad we chose comedies instead of dramas.

      • Yeah, I’ve kind of been avoiding his work for awhile to give myself time to cope…on another note, sorry I ended up missing this one. 😦 Friend of mine needed someone to talk to during a panic attack and we lost track of time. Ended up playing Civ 5 until late and I completely forgot about the Drinkalong.

      • Thanks. 🙂 Hopefully I can pull myself together long enough to make it to the next one.

        You’re a good friend, btw. I feel like I don’t say that often enough.

      • It’s far too early for you to be making me cry. ❤

        Next week starts our month of my favourite Hallowe'en movies, so I really hope you can make one of them!

      • Aww, I’m sorry! *loads the tissue cannon and fires a box in your direction* There, hopefully that helps. 🙂

        As for the Halloween movies, I will DEFINITELY be here for Hocus Pocus. Will also try and be there for as many of the others as I can!

Leave a Reply

